Flows Builder | How to create & edit flows

Updated on
October 4, 2021

How to create and edit a flow

For other flow help articles: see our flows hub. 

Who can use this feature? 

Assembly admins determine who has permission to create flows. By default, the flow owner is the person who initially creates the flow, however the flow owner can be changed at any time throughout the creation or editing process. Only the flow owner can edit the flow.

What to expect

  • Anyone with permissions to create a flow will be able to add a new flow to their Assembly.
  • Only flow owners will have access to the builder for the flow they own.

Selecting an action

At the moment we only offer one type of action - create an app. Any flow with create an app as an action type will prompt participants to fill out a sequence of blocks and the content/answers will be distributed and visible to all viewers.

Create an app

Use create an app to ask questions, gather information, and automate workflows – you’ll be able to customize what you ask with a variety of block types including (but not limited to) multiple-choice, scale, open ended, and more advanced blocks like prompting a participant to give a person points. To select an action:

  1. From the builder tab, click the Action section
  2. Create an app will be automatically selected (since it’s the only action at the moment)
  3. Click Next

Selecting a trigger

The trigger determines how the flow runs. The flow can either run at a scheduled date and time, or it can run on-demand, where the flow owner triggers it manually.

Choose a trigger type 

On demand

Use this trigger when you don’t want to run a flow on any particular schedule (on a specific day and time). On demand flows can be run once or multiple times, but they must be triggered manually by the flow owner and will not run automatically. To select an on demand trigger type:

  1. From the builder tab, click the Trigger section.
  2. Select On demand
  3. Click Next.
Scheduled date & time

Use this trigger for a flow you’d like to automate to run on a regular cadence, or even if you want it to run a flow only once but schedule it for a specific day and time. To select a scheduled date and time trigger:

  1. From the builder tab, click the Trigger section.
  2. Select Scheduled date & time
  3. Click Next.

Configure trigger settings 

On demand
  1. Select the due date (how long participants have to answer the flow once it’s been triggered).
  2. Select whether you want participants to be able to answer the flow anytime, as many times as they’d like, regardless of whether the flow has been triggered/they have been prompted to answer it or not.
  3. Click Next.
Scheduled date & time
  1. Select the date you want the flow to trigger for the first time.
  2. Select how often you’d like the flow to recur.
  3. Select the time of day you’d like the flow to trigger at.
  4. Select the time zone you want the flow to trigger in. (NOTE: this flow will trigger for all participants at the same time, regardless of their individual time zones)
  5. Select how long participants have to answer the flow after it’s been triggered, the “due date” of the flow.
  6. Select when you’d like the flow’s schedule to end/when the flow should stop recurring.
    a. If you select never, the flow will continue to recur on the designated cadence until you manually end the flow schedule by either archiving the flow or editing the schedule in the builder.
    b. If you select a specific date and time, the flow will continue to recur until that date and time, after which point you will need to edit the flow to restart the flow’s schedule.
  7. Select whether you want participants to be able to answer the flow anytime, as many times as they’d like, regardless of whether the flow has been triggered/they have been prompted to answer it or not.
  8. Click Next.

Selecting participants

Participants are the only people who can respond to a flow. Participants are determined by criteria selected in the builder during this step.

Participant criteria
Member and email
  1. To add individual participants, select Member is or Email is.
  2. To exclude a specific person as a participant, select Member is not or Email is not.
  3. You can add or combine additional criteria to narrow the participant list down more
Department
  1. To include all employees in a specific department as participants, select Department is. This will automatically add or remove participants whenever they join or leave a department.
  2. To exclude a specific department, select Department is not.
    a. This will include all employees in every department except for the specified department(s)
  3. You can add or combine additional criteria to narrow the participant list down more
Everyone
  1. Selecting everyone as participant criteria will include everyone in your Assembly as a participant.
  2. This will automatically add or remove participants whenever they join or leave your Assembly.
Combining criteria

You can combine criteria within the same group or between different groups. If adding criteria within the same group, you can select whether the participants need to match all of the criteria or any of the criteria.

Participant matches any

When combining criteria within the same group, selecting participant matches any means anyone who matches any of the selected criteria will be included as a participant.

For example, selecting Department is Product and Department is Engineering with participant matches any selected will include any member whose department is product or engineering.

Participant matches all

When combining criteria within the same group, selecting participant matches all means the participants must match all of the criteria within the same group.

For example, selecting Department is Product and Name is not Katya Bachrouche with participant matches all will include everyone in the Product except for Katya Bachrouche.

Or participant matches

When combining criteria between groups, selecting or participant matches means anyone who matches the criteria in one group OR the criteria in the second group will be included as a participant.

And participant matches

When combining criteria between groups, selecting and participant matches means anyone who matches the criteria in one group AND the criteria in the second group will be included as a participant.

Selecting viewers

Viewers are the only people who can see the responses to a flow. Whoever is included as a viewer can see all the flow posts in the main feed, flow feed, and profile feed. 

  1. A flow owner is always a viewer, even if they are specifically excluded from the viewer criteria.
  2. Participants will always see their own responses, even if they are excluded from the viewer criteria.
Viewer criteria
Everyone

Selecting everyone will allow anyone who joins or leaves your Assembly to see all of your flow’s responses.

Participants only

Selecting participants only allows only the flow’s participants to see all of your flow’s responses. Remember, flow owners will always have visibility, even if they are not a participant when this option is selected.

Owner only

Selecting owner only for visibility will only allow flow owners to view all of your flow’s responses. Remember, participants will always be able to see their own responses even if visibility is configured to be only the flow owner.

Custom

Selecting custom for visibility will allow you to select specific viewers for your flow. Please see the participant criteria section above for more information about selecting customer visibility. Remember, flow owners will always be able to see all responses and participants will always be able to view their own responses.

Selecting Content

Each flow will have a set of blocks for the participants to fill out. Whether you’re using a template or creating a flow from scratch, the content section will allow you to customize the blocks (questions or statements) you want to include in your flow.

Collection blocks

These blocks will collect information from the participants. You can add and combine as many of these blocks as you’d like within your flow. To adjust the advanced settings for each block, click the gear icon for that block to configure them. To delete a block, click the three-dotted menu for that block.


Advanced collection blocks

We currently offer one advanced collection block, which is our Give a person points stack. This combines a person selection block with a give points block. 

  1. These two blocks are linked together and cannot exist without each other.
  2. Only one give a person points stack can be included in each flow.
  3. Deleting one of these blocks will delete the other block linked to it.